Shares, Sports

Delmon Young, Detroit’s (ex) Bad Boy

I won’t lie, I’m pretty new to baseball.  But with the help of a couple of friends I’m learning the game and have become a fan of the sport.  And with my hometown Detroit Tigers making it all the way to the World Series, the MLB became pretty fun and easy to follow.  However one Tiger in particular drew my attention during this season.  It’s not pitching ace Justin Verlander, nor Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera.  Not even Home Run Derby champ Prince Fielder.

It’s Delmon Young, but not for the clutch HRs and RBIs he drove in all postseason.  It’s because of his old ways.  Delmon has a mean streak!  I’m sure most of us remember him drunkenly attacking a group of Jewish men during a season series in New York against the Yankees earlier in the year.  What many people don’t remember, or have never seen, is Delmon throwing his bat at an umpire after a disagreement on a call.  Another notable Delmon moment was him inexplicably kicking a catcher while at bat, then charging the mound as he prepared for an all-out empty dugout brawl earlier in his career.  Luckily we have video of both, enjoy.

 

No matter how reckless he could be at times, Delmon Young will be missed.  He was by far the most consistent batter the Tigers had this postseason.  The decision to not resign him for next season baffles me.  But I’m no baseball expert, so feel free to educate me below.

About Elikem Moten

Founder of QuimDigital. Entrepreneurship & Marketing student at Central Michigan University. Burger Addict. Mountain Biker. Car Enthusiast. Technology Junkie.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Top Posts & Pages